Terry Thompson to be inducted into NRHA Hall of Fame

terry-thompsonAt the National Reining Horse Association (NRHA)’s most recent board of directors’ meeting in Scottsdale, Arizona, the Hall of Fame committee recommended several nominees for induction into the NRHA Hall of Fame and consideration for the NRHA Dale Wilkinson Lifetime Achievement Award. The board voted to induct Terry Thompson, Miss Tinseltown and Smart Spook into the NRHA Hall of Fame. Kenny Eppers and Bob Stinner will each receive the NRHA Dale Wilkinson Lifetime Achievement Award. These highly-coveted honors will be celebrated at the NRHA Annual Awards Banquet on June 20, 2015 at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City.

Terry Thompson, of Aubrey, Texas, first earned an NRHA paycheck in 1977. He was the 1982 and 1985 NRHA Derby Open Champion and a perennial finalist in the NRHA Derby, NRHA Futurity and other major events. Thompson has also figured prominently in winning many regional futurities and derbies. Thompson has served on various NRHA committees and the NRHA board of directors. He has been a generous contributor in youth fundraising. Thompson is an NRHA judge and was instrumental in developing the current judging system. In addition to NRHA competition, Terry has actively participated in Appaloosa Horse Club (ApHC) events helping to promote the sport of reining, especially the Appaloosa reining horse.

Congratulations Terry!

Comments are closed.